Friday September 25, 2015

09-25-2015_1

Here is the 16 5/8″ (actually a bit smaller at 16 9/16) that I am varnishing.  Note the moderately wide grain spacing.  This viola is really sounding good already when I tap it, and when I have music cranked up in the shop, it hums along in my hands!

09-25-2015_2

The back has some crazy flaming and some pin-knots at the lower edge.  This maple had been seasoning for decades before I carved it.

09-25-2015_3The yellow base color seems extra bold from the sunlight.  The next step will be to put on the actual color.  The person who ordered this viola wants a darker look…I’ll have to call and check before I mix up the colors.

There are several interesting repairs in the shop at this time, early next week I’ll post some photos of them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment